As the township grew, a need arose for increased police services. In response to this need, the Board of Trustees decided that a separate department should be created as a supplement to the Summit County Sheriff's Office. On November 1, 1976, the Franklin Township Police Department was formed. Jerry Sharrock, a Captain with the Summit County Sheriff's Office (SCSO), was chosen to serve as the Chief of Police. In addition to Chief Sharrock, that first department consisted of one full-time and one reserve police officer. Chief Sharrock led the department until his retirement, in 1990. After Chief Sharrock's retirement, Ronald Fuchs was Chief from 1990 to 1995. The Department became the New Franklin Police Department after the merger between Franklin Township and New Franklin Village. In 2006, the City of New Franklin was formed.